Community of Christ



The Community of Christ, known from 1872 to 2001 as the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (RLDS), is an American-based international Christian church established in April 1830 that claims as its mission "to proclaim Jesus Christ and promote communities of joy, hope, love, and peace". The church reports approximately 250,000 members in 50 nations.

Basic Beliefs:

  1. Reign of God: "Zion" expresses our commitment to herald God's peaceable kingdom on earth by forming Christ-centered communities in families, congregations, neighborhoods, cities, and throughout the world.
  2. Humanity: Every human being is created in the image of God. God has blessed humankind with the gift of agency: the ability to choose whom or what we will serve within the circumstances of our lives.
  3. Salvation: This new life is the loving gift of God's grace that becomes ours through faith and repentance. Baptism is how we initially express our commitment to lifelong discipleship. As we yield our lives to Christ in baptism we enter Christian community (the body of Christ) and have the promise of salvation.
  4. Revelation: We affirm the Living God is ever self-revealing. God is revealed to the world in the testimony of Israel, and above all in Jesus Christ. By the Holy Spirit we continue to hear God speaking today.